top of page

Xingyiquan  形意拳





  Xinygiyquan also known as shape and intent fist, is one the major internal styles of Chinese martial arts alongside Taiji, Bagua and Liuhebafa. It is characterized by fast linear footwork and explosive powerful applications. Although considered an internal style, Xingyiquan is not done slowly or as softly as Taiji. Instead it is thought to be a soft/hard style, relaxed and then extremely energetic when attacking.  The movements of Xingyiquan are easy to learn but take time to master the numerous combinations in which they can be applied. 


Like the other internal styles of martial arts, Xingyiquan is also based on an aspect of Chinese medical and philosophical culture. In this case, the foundation and startegic theory is based on what is known as the five element theory. Used most commonly in Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) the five element theory focuses on the changing of the seasons in nature and how they effect and relate to the changes in the human body. Like the name implies, there are five elements, each relates to a season, to an organ in the body, to a part of the body, a direction, taste, emotion, color etc. In Xingyiquan, each of the five elements is characterized or expressed by a different fist (quan) or punching technique giving Xingyiquan its xing or shape. The intent or yi, is derived from the characteristic movements of 12 animals. Each of these can be practiced individually or as a set routine. Each is a different expression of the five basic shapes.


Unique to Xingyiquan is the use of the natural cycle of the five elements as means for offense and defense.The nourishing cycle relates to offensive maneuvers while the restraining to defensive.  Withing the five element theory like nature one element and season naturally flows into or nourishes the next (spring, summer, late summer, fall, winter). In xingyiquan each technique is naturally followed by the corresponding element (pi/metal, zhuan/water, beng/wood, pao/fire, heng/earth). When defending, Xingyiquan uses the same movements as offensive in and attacking defensive posture. This restraining cycle is characterized by one elements strength over another (metal over wood, fire over metal, water over fire, earth over water, and wood over earth).  In this way each punching movement is both offensive and defensive. 


  • Xingyi Wuxingquan (Five Element Fist)

  • Xingyi 12 Animals (Individual Forms)

  • Xingyi Shixingquan (10 Animals Fist)

  • Xingyi Wuxing Dao (Five Elements Saber)

  • Xingyi Wuxing Jian (Five Elements Sword)

  • Xingyi Wuxing Gun (Five Elements Staff)

  • Xingyi Wuxing Qiang (Five Elements Spear)

  • Xingyi Shierxing Dao (12 Animals Saber)

  • Xingyi Shierxing Jian (12 Animals Sword)

  • Xingyi Shierxing Gun (12 Animals Staff)

  • Xingyi Shierxing Qiang (12 Animals Spear)

  • Xingyi Sanshoupao (Three hand Canon Matching Set)

  • Xingyi Wuxingpao (Five Element Canon Matching Set)

  • Xingyi Anshenpao (Calm Body Canon Matching Set)

bottom of page